Mangatutu

After a day on the Esk with Daniel i decided to take one long day of relaxing without fishing. To spend my time under the perfectly blue sky I drove the car back into Napier in order to accept Tonys offer.

I met Tony at Guns & Tackle in Napier where he works. Nicely enough, the offer was to come and stay at his place for a couple of days.

I drove to Huamoana where he recides and knocked on his door. He was nowhere to be found so i went down to the beach where i found him fishing for Kahawai with his son. We had a chat before he showed me the caravan that would be my home for a couple of days.

Now, I scroll through the pictures from the three days of fishing i had while staying there. Hawkes Bay surely delivered fishing with a whole lot of action and splendid catchrates. It was nothing like i’ve ever experienced.

During my first day I drove off to the Mangatutu stream, a tributary to the Tuakiruri, if that’s the actual name of the river I don’t really know but I’m sure it was something like that.

The many, not too big, but healthy and hard fighting fish was to my pleasure feeding frantically.

I hooked 15 fish and landed around 10.

DSC_0018 DSC_0006 DSC_0011 DSC_0022So that was the Mangatutu. A real jungle-style stream.

The next morning, Tony took me out on the sea to chase some Kahawai.

DSC_0001 DSC_0003

We chased the massive schools of frenzied Kahawai. I didn’t take a pic of it, but we were accompanied by a pack of Dolphins which, just like us, were hunting the Kahawai.

DSC_0014

Tony with a massive Kahawai.

DSC_0016 DSC_0018

Theese fish surely tests the quality of the equipment used. As i prevented the fish to go for a rapid rush i felt how the rod bent all the way from the top down to the cork-handle.

DSC_0024 DSC_0028

The anmount of fish around forced us to close the barbs of the hooks in order to allow us to spend more time fishing rather than spending time dehooking the 20-30 fish that got hooked. We kept 7 well sized Kahawai, filleted them and brought them to the Fish ‘n Chip shop in order to have a massive crumbed and fried Kahawai-Feast.

A Bloody great day!

The following day was spent on a tributary to the Ngaruro River.

DSC_0005This is one ugly Jack!

DSC_0013

 

And I must say that this is the kind of female rainbow I would mate if i was a rainbow. And no I’m not really into fish that way, just speculating.😉

Several fish like this were caught. Heaps of fun!

I do look forward to get back to the south again though. Fishing for the rainbow trouts are just as much fun as the fishing for browns, but I don’t really think it deliveres the same kind of challenge.

Now, I’m spending my time with my friend Magnus just travelling and enjoying the summer. Allthough we are spending most time cruising, we are doing some coastal fishing from which i hope we’ll soon get some fun stories to be told.

Havn’t got much else to say at this moment. I’m in Thames and the rain is pouring down as i shiver in the cold library.

Piz out…

Kommentera

